In the state of Florida, the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) can suspend your driver’s license for a variety of reasons, from driving without insurance or registration, to being labeled a Habitual Traffic Offender.
A suspended license defense lawyer can help you sort out your legal problems and get you back on the road again. Criminal defense attorney Guy Seligman will fight on your behalf regarding:
Accumulating too many driving offenses can result in you being labeled a “Habitual Traffic Offender” by the DMV.
Perhaps your traffic troubles started out small – tickets for speeding, reckless driving or another traffic offense. Maybe you failed to pay the tickets or you paid and ended up with too many points on your license. Then your license was suspended, but you continued to drive. You were pulled over for some reason and arrested when it was discovered that you were driving on a suspended license.
Did You Know?
If you are found guilty of driving with a suspended driver’s license 3 times within 5 years you will become a Habitual Traffic Offender in the eyes of the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. Your driver’s license will then be suspended for 5 years.
After enough of these offenses you are now a Habitual Traffic Offender. In the worst case scenario your license is revoked. It may feel like you will never drive again, but many times this sad situation is repairable.
Guy can help you sift through this “ticket and suspension” mess and determine the best course of action to take. Often we can help clear many of the charges, avoid jail time, work to have your driving privileges restored and get you back on the road again. It is important that you call us quickly before your situation gets out of control! We will fight aggressively to restore your driving privileges and give you a second chance.
Most traffic accidents are caused by drivers who have broken traffic laws. If that is the case, then the investigating officer will file charges against the offending driver. If you are charged in a traffic accident you will be able to explain what happened in court and the traffic court will decide what your penalty will be.
Often you will be required to complete a Traffic Collision Avoidance Course. Many people, however, may not always be aware that a judgment has been entered against you; perhaps you did not attend your court hearing, or the judgment was entered at a later time. Depending on the accident and the court’s judgment, you may have points assigned to your driving record. This could result in a suspended driver’s license.
If you have been found at fault in an accident and are facing problems with your license as a result, contact Guy today to discuss your legal options and how your driver’s license can be reinstated.
In Florida, if you own a motor vehicle with four or more wheels, you must by law carry $10,000 of personal injury protection (PIP) insurance and a minimum of $10,000 of property damage liability insurance. You may have a deductible of up to $2,000 for PIP coverage and $500 for Property Damage Liability. Personal injury protection (PIP) insurance covers you regardless of whether you cause an accident, up to $10,000 minus your deductible.
If you have a valid driver’s license, you can still have your license suspended if you do not pay your insurance premiums in a timely manner. The insurance company will contact the DMV, which will suspend your license for failing to maintain the proper insurance coverage.
Once your license has been suspended, the DMV will promptly send you a Notice of Suspension letter. Don’t waste valuable time! Contact Guy if you get a Notice of Suspension to receive help addressing your suspended license issues. Remember – if you are dropped by your insurance company for non-payment, it’s difficult and expensive to get new insurance.
Any vehicle driving on the roads in Florida is required to have current registration and when you are pulled over by a police officer you will be asked to show proof of registration. Vehicle registration is not permanent – it must be renewed annually.
If your registration is expired, or if you never obtained it, you can be ticketed. You also may be charged with a misdemeanor, depending on the circumstances. Failure to register a vehicle for use on Florida roads is an infraction that can lead to fines up to $500 in addition to administrative fees and other charges associated with the court. Offenders also may face up to 60 days in jail, probation and potential points on their driver’s license. Those points can lead to a suspended license.
If you’ve been caught driving without registration and are facing legal penalties, let Guy help you fight to get your license back. The sooner you contact Guy, the sooner you can be back on the road.
If your driving record has led you to a license suspension, not only does it strip away your driving privileges, but it can also greatly affect your daily responsibilities such as commuting to and from work or school.
Depending on one’s current driving history, it is possible to obtain what is known as a hardship license. With the help of an experienced attorney, a hardship license can ultimately grant you certain privileges such as allowing you to drive for business or employment-related purposes. To see if you are eligible, you must first find an experienced suspended license attorney to help you through the enrollment process. This process includes completing a driver improvement course and applying for the license at a local DMV office.
Timing is important; the sooner you get started with the application process, the better chances you have in being eligible for the license. Contact attorney Guy Seligman today to see if you can get back on the road by obtaining a hardship license.
The sooner you call, the sooner you could be driving legally!
Call us today! 954.760.7600