Fort Lauderdale Criminal Defense For Vehicular Homicide
Accused Of Vehicular Homicide In Fort Lauderdale?
or Hollywood, Hallandale, Pompano Beach, Deerfield Beach, Miami or Boca Raton
If you have been arrested for and charged with vehicular homicide or vehicular manslaughter, it is thought you have killed a person or a fetus by an injury to the mother. This was caused by reckless driving of your vehicle. Florida Statute §782.071. describes the penalties for vehicular homicide in Fort Lauderdale Florida.
Florida Vehicular Homicide Statute
Reckless driving is driving “any vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property” under Florida Statute §316.192. The driving is considered so reckless in vehicular homicide cases that the driver’s intent to kill is not necessary to prosecute this crime.
Vehicular Homicide is a Felony of Either the First Degree or a Second Degree.
Felonies are divided by several degrees of severity, which provide different levels of punishment. Vehicular homicide is a second degree felony and punishable by up to 15 years in prison and a fine not exceeding $10,000. If at the time of the accident you knew or should have known that the accident occurred and failed to give information to a police officer or render reasonable aid to those injured the crime is prosecuted as a first degree felony. This is punishable by up to 30 years in prison and a fine not exceeding $10,000.
Contact Guy Seligman to discuss your case.