Fort Lauderdale Drug Charges?

Arrested For A Controlled Substance

Speak to A Fort Lauderdale  Criminal Defense Lawyer: Boca Raton, Coconut Creek, Cooper city, Dania Beach, Davie, Deerfield beach, Hollywood, Lauderdale Lakes, Lauderhill, Margate, North Lauderdale, Oakland park, Plantation, Pompano Beach, Tamarac, Wilton Manors.

Under Florida law, your Florida driver’s license can be suspended if you are found guilty of certain offenses, even if these offenses do not involve operating a motor vehicle. Some of these offenses are possession of marijuana or cocaine. These can result in a 2 year driver’s license suspension.

If you have lost your license because of a Controlled Substance conviction, contact Guy Seligman today to discuss what can be done to reinstate your driving privileges.

Illegal Sale Of A Controlled Substance Florida Law

Have You Been Arrested On Sale of Drugs Charges?

The Illegal Sales of Controlled Substances Is A Criminal Charge That May Result In An Automatic License Suspension

Florida Statutes

893.13 Prohibited acts; penalties.—

(1)(a) Except as authorized by this chapter and chapter 499, it is unlawful for any person to sell, manufacture, or deliver, or possess with intent to sell, manufacture, or deliver, a controlled substance. Any person who violates this provision with respect to:

1. A controlled substance named or described in s. 893.03(1)(a), (1)(b), (1)(d), (2)(a), (2)(b), or (2)(c)4., commits a felony of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.

2. A controlled substance named or described in s. 893.03(1)(c), (2)(c)1., (2)(c)2., (2)(c)3., (2)(c)5., (2)(c)6., (2)(c)7., (2)(c)8., (2)(c)9., (3), or (4) commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.

3. A controlled substance named or described in s. 893.03(5) commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.

(b) Except as provided in this chapter, it is unlawful to sell or deliver in excess of 10 grams of any substance named or described in s. 893.03(1)(a) or (1)(b), or any combination thereof, or any mixture containing any such substance. Any person who violates this paragraph commits a felony of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.

(c) Except as authorized by this chapter, it is unlawful for any person to sell, manufacture, or deliver, or possess with intent to sell, manufacture, or deliver, a controlled substance in, on, or within 1,000 feet of the real property comprising a child care facility as defined in s. 402.302 or a public or private elementary, middle, or secondary school between the hours of 6 a.m. and 12 midnight, or at any time in, on, or within 1,000 feet of real property comprising a state, county, or municipal park, a community center, or a publicly owned recreational facility. For the purposes of this paragraph, the term “community center” means a facility operated by a nonprofit community-based organization for the provision of recreational, social, or educational services to the public. Any person who violates this paragraph with respect to:

1. A controlled substance named or described in s. 893.03(1)(a), (1)(b), (1)(d), (2)(a), (2)(b), or (2)(c)4., commits a felony of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084. The defendant must be sentenced to a minimum term of imprisonment of 3 calendar years unless the offense was committed within 1,000 feet of the real property comprising a child care facility as defined in s. 402.302.

2. A controlled substance named or described in s. 893.03(1)(c), (2)(c)1., (2)(c)2., (2)(c)3., (2)(c)5., (2)(c)6., (2)(c)7., (2)(c)8., (2)(c)9., (3), or (4) commits a felony of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.

3. Any other controlled substance, except as lawfully sold, manufactured, or delivered, must be sentenced to pay a $500 fine and to serve 100 hours of public service in addition to any other penalty prescribed by law.

Suspended License For Drug Charges

322.055 Revocation or suspension of, or delay of eligibility for, driver’s license for persons 18 years of age or older convicted of certain drug offenses.—

(1) Notwithstanding the provisions of s. 322.28, upon the conviction of a person 18 years of age or older for possession or sale of, trafficking in, or conspiracy to possess, sell, or traffic in a controlled substance, the court shall direct the department to revoke the driver’s license or driving privilege of the person. The period of such revocation shall be 2 years or until the person is evaluated for and, if deemed necessary by the evaluating agency, completes a drug treatment and rehabilitation program approved or regulated by the Department of Children and Family Services. However, the court may, in its sound discretion, direct the department to issue a license for driving privileges restricted to business or employment purposes only, as defined by s. 322.271, if the person is otherwise qualified for such a license. A driver whose license or driving privilege has been suspended or revoked under this section or s. 322.056 may, upon the expiration of 6 months, petition the department for restoration of the driving privilege on a restricted or unrestricted basis depending on length of suspension or revocation. In no case shall a restricted license be available until 6 months of the suspension or revocation period has expired.

(2) If a person 18 years of age or older is convicted for the possession or sale of, trafficking in, or conspiracy to possess, sell, or traffic in a controlled substance and such person is eligible by reason of age for a driver’s license or privilege, the court shall direct the department to withhold issuance of such person’s driver’s license or driving privilege for a period of 2 years after the date the person was convicted or until the person is evaluated for and, if deemed necessary by the evaluating agency, completes a drug treatment and rehabilitation program approved or regulated by the Department of Children and Family Services. However, the court may, in its sound discretion, direct the department to issue a license for driving privileges restricted to business or employment purposes only, as defined by s. 322.271, if the person is otherwise qualified for such a license. A driver whose license or driving privilege has been suspended or revoked under this section or s. 322.056 may, upon the expiration of 6 months, petition the department for restoration of the driving privilege on a restricted or unrestricted basis depending on the length of suspension or revocation. In no case shall a restricted license be available until 6 months of the suspension or revocation period has expired.

(3) If a person 18 years of age or older is convicted for the possession or sale of, trafficking in, or conspiracy to possess, sell, or traffic in a controlled substance and such person’s driver’s license or driving privilege is already under suspension or revocation for any reason, the court shall direct the department to extend the period of such suspension or revocation by an additional period of 2 years or until the person is evaluated for and, if deemed necessary by the evaluating agency, completes a drug treatment and rehabilitation program approved or regulated by the Department of Children and Family Services. However, the court may, in its sound discretion, direct the department to issue a license for driving privileges restricted to business or employment purposes only, as defined by s. 322.271, if the person is otherwise qualified for such a license. A driver whose license or driving privilege has been suspended or revoked under this section or s. 322.056 may, upon the expiration of 6 months, petition the department for restoration of the driving privilege on a restricted or unrestricted basis depending on the length of suspension or revocation. In no case shall a restricted license be available until 6 months of the suspension or revocation period has expired.

(4) If a person 18 years of age or older is convicted for the possession or sale of, trafficking in, or conspiracy to possess, sell, or traffic in a controlled substance and such person is ineligible by reason of age for a driver’s license or driving privilege, the court shall direct the department to withhold issuance of such person’s driver’s license or driving privilege for a period of 2 years after the date that he or she would otherwise have become eligible or until he or she becomes eligible by reason of age for a driver’s license and is evaluated for and, if deemed necessary by the evaluating agency, completes a drug treatment and rehabilitation program approved or regulated by the Department of Children and Family Services. However, the court may, in its sound discretion, direct the department to issue a license for driving privileges restricted to business or employment purposes only, as defined by s. 322.271, if the person is otherwise qualified for such a license. A driver whose license or driving privilege has been suspended or revoked under this section or s. 322.056 may, upon the expiration of 6 months, petition the department for restoration of the driving privilege on a restricted or unrestricted basis depending on the length of suspension or revocation. In no case shall a restricted license be available until 6 months of the suspension or revocation period has expired.

(5) Each clerk of court shall promptly report to the department each conviction for the possession or sale of, trafficking in, or conspiracy to possess, sell, or traffic in a controlled substance.

If you have been arrested on Ft Lauderdale drug related charges as listed above call  Criminal defense lawyer Guy Seligman