Suspended License Juvenile Defense Lawyer | DUI Defense

Juvenile Defense For Underage Drinking and Driving, DUI, Suspended License Charges

Get Fort Lauderdsle, Miami, Hollywood, Hallandale, Pompano Beach, Coral Springs, Boca Raton Juvenile criminal defense.

Florida suspended License Laws Apply To Juveniles as Well As Adults

The 2015 Suspended License  Florida Statutes

812.0155 Suspension of driver license following an adjudication of guilt for theft.—
(1) Except as provided in subsections (2) and (3), the court may order the suspension of the driver license of each person adjudicated guilty of any misdemeanor violation of s. 812.014 or s. 812.015, regardless of the value of the property stolen. Upon ordering the suspension of the driver license of the person adjudicated guilty, the court shall forward the driver license of the person adjudicated guilty to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles in accordance with s. 322.25.
(a) The first suspension of a driver license under this subsection shall be for a period of up to 6 months.
(b) A second or subsequent suspension of a driver license under this subsection shall be for 1 year.
(2) The court may revoke, suspend, or withhold issuance of a driver license of a person less than 18 years of age who violates s. 812.014 or s. 812.015 as an alternative to sentencing the person to:
(a) Probation as defined in s. 985.03 or commitment to the Department of Juvenile Justice, if the person is adjudicated delinquent for such violation and has not previously been convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for any criminal offense, regardless of whether adjudication was withheld.
(b) Probation as defined in s. 985.03, commitment to the Department of Juvenile Justice, probation as defined in chapter 948, community control, or incarceration, if the person is convicted as an adult of such violation and has not previously been convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for any criminal offense, regardless of whether adjudication was withheld.
(3) As used in this subsection, the term “department” means the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. A court that revokes, suspends, or withholds issuance of a driver license under subsection (2) shall:
(a) If the person is eligible by reason of age for a driver license or driving privilege, direct the department to revoke or withhold issuance of the person’s driver license or driving privilege for not less than 6 months and not more than 1 year;
(b) If the person’s driver license is under suspension or revocation for any reason, direct the department to extend the period of suspension or revocation by not less than 6 months and not more than 1 year; or
(c) If the person is ineligible by reason of age for a driver license or driving privilege, direct the department to withhold issuance of the person’s driver license or driving privilege for not less than 6 months and not more than 1 year after the date on which the person would otherwise become eligible.
(4) Subsections (2) and (3) do not preclude the court from imposing any sanction specified or not specified in subsection (2) or subsection (3).
(5) A court that suspends the driver license of a person pursuant to subsection (1) may direct the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to issue the person a license for driving privilege restricted to business purposes only, as defined in s. 322.271, if he or she is otherwise qualified.

Juvenile  Defense | Underage Drinking & DUI

In most cases, it is unlikely that a minor charged with a DUI would be prosecuted as an adult unless someone was injured or the minor had prior convictions.

Get a juvenile lawyer to defend your son or daughter with a DUI charge or a suspended license in Miami, Fort Lauderdale, Pompano Beach, Boca Raton, West Palm Beach